What it Means to be Living – (2012)

tranquil“If a man has not discovered something what he is willing to die for he is not fit to live.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

As a student in high school I find that I am not living life to its fullest. It might be because I am only a young adult and I have my whole life ahead of m. When I attended school every day I think about my future and what I want to do with my life after high school. I am almost positive that I want to be a teacher because I want students to enjoy school just as much as I have. When I think about my life I also think about the things I want to do to make my life more interesting. My thoughts include place I want to go, people I want to meet, and differences I would like to make in other people’s lives. All of these thoughts, ideas, and plans for my future will lead me to my purpose in life.

Having a purpose in life is exactly what Martin Luther King Jr. is trying to explain. He wants people to find their purpose in life. He also wants to remind people that in order to live it will take more than a heartbeat and breathing in air, because living is exploring the world and discovering what you can really do to make society better. If I were to classify the word living I would say that a difference or idea has been made and made clear to people by someone of great significance.

A line out of the story “from Walden” by Henry David Thoreau goes, “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach and not, when I came to die, discover I had not lived.” This is a line that simply explains that life is short in a way that we should never waste a moment to grasp all that we can whether it is knowledge that the Earth and its people have to give us, or being accompanied by another culture which puts us back in our place by making us feel small. I know that if you do not live life carefully and you have not experienced nature first hand then you are not living.

One of the most famous women in the world is Oprah. She has lived her life, gone through challenges, faced her fears, helped complete strangers to get back up on their feet, economically, and she has been a big impact on children’s lives by donating a large sum of money to have a school built in Africa so those children could receive a quality education. She is only one example in modern day society. I know that there are many more people who can say that they have lived their lives to the fullest, but can you?

Leave a Reply

