You are on My Mind

Dear readers,

Today has been a day in itself, but I am reaching out to you so that I am ready for the next time this occurs. Today I was grocery shopping with my mother-in-law to be. On our way home we stopped at McDonald’s to grab a bite to eat. As we were waiting for our food, a man walked in with a little girl maybe 5 or 6 years old at the most. I looked at the little girl cause she was a kid, you know. She was cute. Telling the man, (assuming step dad, because I see no resemblence – diff. in ethnicity if that makes a difference), about the toys she sees. As she turn her head side to side describing them, i notice these marks on her neck. Dark marks on both sides that (if connecting the dots) make a line as if someone has grabbed her. Roughed her around. You know. Finger marks. But I could not tell, and I was second guessing myself. I did not know what to do. The marks were on both sides, same shade, same pattern. Is she being abused? She seemed friendly with the man, happy to be with him. Not skittish or anything. Very sweet little girl. That is why I am hoping I am wrong. But it is and will forever be on my mind!

What if I was not wrong? What will happen then? What if I could have helped that little girl? What if….

So that is why I am coming to you, readers.

What could I have done without making a scene? Was there anything I could have done? Am I just being nosy? Was I wrong for not doing anything, or is that the normal thing to do? I know I would have done something if they were more distinct and I knew for sure it was marks. Especially if there was already an officer in there, but even then I would have told a manager.

What would you do, readers? Give me your thoughts, or advice. So next time I, or we will better understand what to do. Because until then, even after, I will never forget that sweet little girl.

Thank you readers,

-Meg

Leave a Reply

